Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Gluten Free Sit-down Restaurant Listing

Greetings - I was on a Gluten Free trip out of town the last few days - it's always an adventure when you leave your Gluten Free home base. I realized that there are a lot of chain restaurants out there with either a complete Gluten Free menu or good information on their Web sites about allergens. With this knowledge, I ventured to Outback Steakhouse on Sunday and had a great experience. I won't be writing a review about this Outback because it was not in Raleigh and I want to save these for local franchises. I do plan on going to a local Outback soon.

I have been discovering these places over the last few months and have also received a ton of feedback from readers who have been doing this for a long time so I decided I would post about what I had found so far. So here is what I have to date - these are mostly national or regional chains that all have locations in the Raleigh area and not by any means an all inclusive list. These are not focusing on local Raleigh restaurants either (like Vivace and Bella Monica).
Whenever I find new ones, I will pass along.
I have also added this listing to the Useful Resources section on the right hand side of this blog and will keep adding to it as time goes by.

Enjoy and feel free to leave a comment if I missed any!

1 comments:

John W. said...

Zach,

As an FYI, I wrote to Chipotle and got this response about their ingredients:

John,

I'm very glad to hear that our manager was able to help you design a meal that was safe for you to enjoy.

I can't share the ingredients list for our adobo, but I can assure you that it is gluten free as well as our chips and crispy corn tacos that are made with whole ground corn tortillas.

Here is the information we have on our website about gluten in case you haven't seen it.

"I want to avoid gluten. What can I eat at your restaurant?

Most people wanting to avoid gluten can eat anything we serve except for our wheat burrito tortillas, our soft wheat taco tortillas, and possibly our hot red tomatillo salsa (there is a small amount of distilled vinegar in it which some gluten-oriented websites still say might be problematic, although most don't).

Everything else is fine to eat for most people wanting to avoid gluten, including our crispy corn tacos, our corn chips, and our burrito bowls (no tortilla). However, you should know that it's possible our corn may have a small amount of gluten from potentially co-mingling with gluten-containing grains in the field.

If you are highly sensitive and would like us to change our gloves, we would be happy to do that at your request. Additionally, because our folks work with wheat tortillas all day long, there may be the possibility of cross-contact in our restaurants. We encourage you to carefully consider your dining choices."

Hope this helps. Let us know if you have further questions.


Sincerely,

Dawn Dillon
Mojo Mama
Chipotle

Post a Comment